Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating what’s different between HLB valu and required HLB ?

• what’s different between HLB valu and required HLB ?

Posted by nasrins on May 22, 2014 at 4:44 am

what’s different between HLB valu and required HLB ? does any body have useful papers or websites?

chemist77 replied 9 years, 10 months ago 3 Members · 10 Replies
  • 10 Replies
  • chemist77

May 22, 2014 at 4:52 am

Required HLB value is calculated by taking into consideration the individual HLB values of the oil phase components of a non-ionic emulsion. Check the sites below how the calculations are done. It helps you in choosing the best emulsifier for your non-ionic emulsion.

http://makingskincare.com/hlb-calculator/

http://www.lotioncrafter.com/pdf/The_HLB_System.pdf (my fav)

http://www.firp.ula.ve/archivos/historicos/76_Book_HLB_ICI.pdf

• nasrins

May 22, 2014 at 4:57 am

I studied both of them.HLB valu and required HLB  are different 

• chemist77

May 22, 2014 at 5:02 am

Good then why don’t you shed some light on it. Maybe I am confused here.

You arrive at the required HLB by doing some mathematical calculations and taking into consideration the individual HLB values of the oil phase of the non-ionic emulsion. 
    Does it make any sense to you?????
  • nasrins

May 22, 2014 at 5:12 am

I thin HLB valued is theoritical however required HLB is experimental.

• chemist77

May 22, 2014 at 5:13 am

BTW nasrins tell me how those theoritical HLB values were assigned, just randomly or after experiments and trials. 

• nasrins

May 22, 2014 at 5:17 am

do u mock me? if i had enough information I didnt ask.

• chemist77

May 22, 2014 at 5:34 am

Not I am not mocking you, I simply overlooked the fact that one is an experimental value and the other is theoritical. And by taking into account these theoritical values we arrive at experimental values which I suppose sound more realistic.
    Appreciate the praise though.

Cheers

• oldperry

May 22, 2014 at 9:56 am